Tags

, , , ,

Trying to figure out exactly were to start this blog. I guess I should start with my most recent project, a wool pouch for an A&S exchange.

20150701_114540

This pouch was not made in any particular style, but inspired by 15th and 16th century German belt pouches

9781_bf0bc10e images (1) images

These bags were primarily made of leather like modern purses, but as I have little experience with leather and was on a budgetary constraint (no more than $25), I chose to make it out of teal wool and line it with silk. I used my recipient’s heraldry as inspiration and appliqued yellow and green felted wood on the lid using a button hole stitch. Black glass beads were used to make ermine spots and metallic gold thread was used to back stitch two crossed sewing needles.

The lid was made using a 5″ diameter circle of cardboard covered on both sides with cotton batting and whip stitched in place. The belt strap is an 8″ x 4″ rectangle of fabric sewn in half, turned right side out then sewn in two places to the body of the bag 4″ from the top edge and 1/2″ from the edge (leaving 1.5″ between the top attachment and the edge of the lid).

The body of the pouch was machined sewn (eek!) using 2- 8″ x 8″ pieces of wool and a 1/2″ seam allowance. The same was done with the silk lining. The eyelets and tassels were hand sewn using cream colored cotton to match the lining. Finally, I kumihimo’d  an 18″ cord using cream cotton and metallic threads to create a drawstring capped off with brass aglets I previously purchased for a hat I made for a friend’s laurel ceremony.

20150701_114555

Overall, I’m very pleased with it and my recipient loved it. I will have to add it to the list of things I want to make for myself and remember to take more pictures!

